The Weekly Bump – Week 18

How far along? 18 weeks

Total weight gain/loss? This is getting to be a sore subject for me.  I still haven’t gained any weight, but I pretty much got the impression from my doctor last week that I’m too fat?  I hate to disclose such personal info on the internet, but I’m 5’7″ and 165 pounds.  Yeah, I know my ideal body weight is closer to 140-ish based on my height, but it’s not like I’m severely obese or something, and because of PCOS, I have had a lot of issues managing my weight the last few years.  Even people who are overweight are recommended to gain a little during pregnancy, but I almost feel like the doctor comes across like he wants me to lose weight, which I don’t plan on doing.  I have really struggled with my weight my whole life, having some disordered eating patterns as a teenager and negative body image issues, and I thought for a few months I could just be okay with whatever weight I was as long as my baby was healthy and growing well.  It’s frustrating.

Maternity clothes? Yes and no. I still fit in my regular clothes, I’m going to try to push them until at least week 20.

Stretch marks? Not yet, thank goodness.  I’ve started using cocoa butter on my belly, hips, and boobs recently.  I don’t know if it will really help, but it can’t hurt.  🙂

Best moment this week? I had a patient at my work ask me if I was expecting, which means other people are starting to be able to tell – that makes it more real.

Miss anything? Time off work?  I have a really crappy schedule this week and last week, so I ended up only getting 1 day off in 2 weeks.  Boo!

Movement? Not yet, but I wish I could feel him; I try to bribe him, like “If you just wiggle for mama, I’ll buy you such fun toys when you are born.”  Haha.

Food cravings? Nothing in particular.

Anything making you queasy or sick? Not really.

Have you started to show yet? Yes, I believe I have.

Gender? It’s a BOY!

Labor signs? Nope, I’m just apparently going to have cramps through this whole pregnancy.

Sleep? I am pretty tired still, so I sleep all night and sometimes take a nap in the afternoon.

Symptoms? Really tired and still having a lot of anxiety.

Belly button in or out? In.

Wedding rings on or off? On.

Happy or moody most of the time? I have been a mixture of both, I think.  I’ve been mostly happy, but when I get overly tired, I get pretty cranky and sensitive.

Looking forward to? Hopefully, Brian and I are going to start our baby registry this coming weekend when I’m finally off work again.

2 thoughts on “The Weekly Bump – Week 18

  1. I wouldn’t worry about the doctor’s concerns over weight…I think sometimes doctors put too much emphasis on the “ideal bmi” or body weight without taking other factors into account. It sounds like for the most part your pregnancy is going well…..congrats on your little boy! What a tremendous blessing!

    • Thanks so much! I agree. The more I think about it, the more I’m thinking maybe I was just too sensitive that day. I mean, I really should be trying to take good care of my body while I’m pregnant, for our little boy AND to try to make labor a little easier. But I do think I have consistently had issues with not liking that doctor’s office, even before I was pregnant, for them always being snarky about my weight, which is probably because they offer a weight loss program… I think we are going to try a different doctor’s office, but we’ll see. As long as our kiddo is healthy and okay, I’m happy.

Leave a Reply

