National Infertility Awareness Week – Resolve

While I’m a little late getting on the bandwagon, I wanted to write a post for NIAW. Infertility is a real struggle for many couples, and I think raising awareness is a wonderful thing. Not only can we help encourage our healthcare system to treat infertility just like other diseases, we can also help couples who are struggling feel more hope and less alone.

The word resolve is both a noun and a verb. When I think back about the beginning of our journey to parenthood, I felt resolve in both senses – I was determined, and I had come to a definite decision – I wanted to have a child more than anything. We were incredibly fortunate that in spite of my known reproductive issues, we conceived in just 8 months. My older sister and my childhood best friend were both less fortunate. It took my sister 5 years and fertility treatments to get pregnant with my niece, who is now 10. She has never been able to get pregnant again. My very dear friend, who I’ve known since the fourth grade, discovered she was pregnant several weeks after me. She and her husband has been trying for about a year, but just a few weeks in, she miscarried. The heartache was so bad that she could hardly be around me through my pregnancy.

Although my pregnancy was sometimes difficult, I am acutely aware that at the end of the day, it was a miracle that I conceived at all, much less without treatment. We were some of the lucky ones. So, with that in mind, let’s all resolve ourselves to learning more, reaching out, and standing up so that we can give hope to the many couples who are struggling in silence.

For more information, please visit http://www.resolve.org.

Leave a Reply

