Thing to Love Thursday – Breast Pump

I hope to make this a semi-regular post series as J grows and we try new things on our parenting journey.  I hope y’all find this useful.

Our Hygeia Q Breast Pump has to be very first love on my list, because as a working mom, this is how I make sure my baby eats. We did receive this pump at no cost thanks to our insurance company – yay! I got to choose between this pump, a Medela Pump in Style, and I think an Ameda one, but I can’t remember.

hygeia, breast pump, baby, pregnancy, parenting, breastfeeding, working mom

The Hygeia Q – 2 knobs to adjust settings, and nice long tubing.

I chose the Hygeia for several reasons. First, it is the only pump endorsed by LaLeche League, and they know their stuff. Next, it is a closed-system pump, which means it is safe for multiple users with individual accessory kits. Although lots of people get used breast pumps, only closed-system pumps are intended for that kind of use. A closed-system does not allow entry of mold, viruses, or from what I’ve read, yeast, which causes thrush. “I think I want to have to deal with thrush” said no mom ever.  It comes with a bacteriostatic filter, 2 tubes, 2 horns, 2 duckbill valves, 2 collection bottles and 2 storage caps, and a power supply cord, all in a tote bag.  It can be used for single or double pumping and you can adjust both the speed and the strength of the suction. It’s all BPA free, and there aren’t 800 parts to wash after I use it each time (and this is important, y’all, because did I mention I work 45 hours a week and have an infant?).

hygeia, breast pump, breastfeeding, parenting, baby, working mom

Here are the flanges – one completely disassembled, and one ready to use.

There are only a few cons that I can think of, and 2 are really only an issue because of another pumping accessory I use, which I will write about next time. First, the bacteriostatic filter, and therefore the whole pump, WILL NOT WORK if it gets wet at all. Second, the tubing is a pain to clean, although this is probably true for all breast pump tubing. Next, this pump does not have a battery pack – it MUST be plugged in.  That doesn’t bother me that much, because I have a different adapter that allows me to use it in the car, and I use a plug strip at work to help it reach from the outlet to my workstation.  Last, it is hard to find extra parts at local baby stores. When my filter got wet, we had to drive 50ish miles to get to the nearest place that sold one, and we don’t exactly live in the middle of nowhere. All parts are available for order from the Hygeia website, but some can be found cheaper from other sites (or a store, or possibly a lactation consultant near you).

If anyone has any questions about this pump, leave a comment and I will offer my (limited) wisdom. I would also direct anyone who is interested in learning more to the Hygeia website. Also, I was not compensated in anyway for this review, just wanted to share what works for us.

Leave a Reply

