The World We Live In

This post has been a long time coming. It has been growing in my head and in my heart for some time, and now it comes pouring out onto this page. It is long and passionate, and contains some controversial issues. If this post speaks to you, I hope you will share it with others, in the sincerest hope that, together, we can make a difference.

Several things have happened recently that really got me thinking. First, I watched Food, Inc. Then, I read that Walgreens is planning on moving its corporate headquarters to Europe to avoid being taxed as much. In addition to all that, I’m getting a front-row seat to someone choosing to throw away their marriage.

When did life become this way? In the hustle and bustle of everyday, sometimes I hardly even notice the seismic shift that has changed everything around me. Other days, my husband and I marvel at how different this world is than the one in which we grew up. I can hardly recognize this world, how am I to navigate it? More importantly, how am I to raise a child in it?

So much has changed. Almost no businesses are closed on Sundays, but it matters not, because less and less families are going to church anyway, so we may as well work more and more. The businesses we frequent have bad policy and bad service, but we continue to spend our money there, and we buy more and more to fill the void within. The foods we eat lack nutritional value and make us sick, but we eat more and more in an effort to find comfort and community.

Our entire world has become disposable. The newest phone has come out, so ours must be replaced, even if it still works perfectly. We get a raise, and rather than increasing our saving and our charitable giving, we upgrade our homes and our cars. If a marriage hits a rough patch, we walk away and start over rather than working things out together.

Our children are routinely exposed to the inappropriate and the vulgar in our culture, but because it is so commonplace, we don’t even blink an eye. They grow up with a sense of entitlement and no work ethic. Our homes are full of stuff, but our hearts are empty. We have no love for our neighbor, and none for ourselves. Our country is morally and financially bankrupt.

How can we make this right?

I don’t pretend to have the answers. All I know is that we have to find our way back. I would gladly trade my iPhone and Chick-fil-a drive-through for Mayberry. And I do know this much – it starts with us. Me and you, we can start the change for our kids and theirs.

For me, and for my family, that has a lot of meanings. First and foremost, it means we are going to put God first. We are going to value our family, and protect it. We are going to try to eat more healthy foods, and shop locally when we can. We are going to be good stewards of the life that God has granted us, and the resources He has provided. We are going to value people and time over money and possessions. We are going to continually seek His guidance and direction in our lives, and we are going to pray hard – for our family and yours, for the leaders in our churches, our communities, and our country. Maybe together, we can all find our way back.

Leave a Reply

