One First Down at a Time

Life is all what you make it, right? So I’m trying to make some positive lifestyle changes right now. I’ve been taking Jake for walks in his stroller around our yard, I’m trying to drink more water, and today at the grocery store, I tried to shop for healthier food. We have been wanting to make some healthy lifestyle changes, like cooking meals and exercising as a family, since shortly after we got married 4 years ago. But with moving 3 times, 2 completely crazy work schedules, a pregnancy, and now a baby? It gets hard, so we backslide into the easy way more often than I would like to admit. After working a full shift, having slept 6 or less hours, and knowing I have a baby to take care of and a house that is never quite clean, I want to take the easy way out and say “Chick-fil-a or Zaxby’s?” when I call my husband on my way home from work. But what’s “easier” today is going to cost us down the road, and honestly? I want better for my son. I don’t want him to have unhealthy relationships with food, I don’t want him to have the “addiction” to unhealthy foods that we have. So today, I picked yogurt instead of Oreos, and cooked fajitas instead of going to Zaxby’s. It’s baby steps, but it’s just like what I’m teaching my son. “How do we win a football game? One first down at a time.”

Leave a Reply

