What (Not) to Pack in Your Diaper Bag

So remember when I posted about my SkipHop bag? Yeah, this is directly related to that. First time moms tend to be, ahem, thorough. Any item that you might ever need gets a home in your diaper bag. Diapers? Yes. Clean outfit? Absolutely. But really the list of things that was in my diaper bag those first few months is astounding, especially compared to what I carry now. And I don’t use most of what I carry now either! So here is my list of what we now carry, and also for your entertainment, the list of what I used to carry.

diapers
wipes
diaper rash cream
burp cloth (so glad we are past the spit-up age!)
change of clothes for Jake
extra socks for Jake
extra shirt for me
sunblock
paci
hat
swaddle blanket (can double as a nursing cover or changing pad if you find that you’ve left home without one of those items)
nursing cover (Jake is big enough now that he really hates this, so I usually just try to find somewhere super private and nurse without it)
snacks for me
changing pad
hand sanitizer (hangs on the straps)
breast pads
baby carrier (this one is hit or miss, depending on where we go – if we are going somewhere that I can reasonably use his stroller or put him in a highchair or shopping cart, we don’t bring this anymore; but when he was 6 months old and younger, this thing was a lifesaver!)
first aid kit (this is a very tiny, very basic first aid kit – think alcohol pads, bandaids, antibiotic ointment)
toy/book/lovey/teething ring (we rotate which ones so he doesn’t get bored)
chapstick for mama (my very favorite is Blistex, but eos is good too)
lanolin
brush
emory board
nasal aspirator
tylenol
mylicon
disposable diaper bags (to wrap dirty diapers, pooped on outfits, whatever; this also hangs on the straps)
baby food and bib (only sometimes – depends on where we are going and the time of day)

So, what about y’all?  Were you over- or under-prepared when packing your diaper bags with your first baby?  Any absolute necessities?

 

2 thoughts on “What (Not) to Pack in Your Diaper Bag

  1. My second baby is six months old now. With my first, I started with an overflowing diaper bag and worked my way down to a half-full one.

    I didn’t even bother with a diaper bag this go around, opting instead to put a couple diapers, wipes and a spare onesie into my purse. 😀

    • Haha, parenthood definitely has a learning curve! I have definitely downsized and carry a purse diaper bag combo; my MIL swears by just carrying a purse, but keeping an “emergency kit” in the car with diapers, wipes, and a spare outfit.

Leave a Reply

