A Day in the Life of a Working, Pumping Mom – Part 2

A second look at how our day to day life looks… This is a 14 hour work day, my least favorite day of the week.

6:15am – First alarm goes off. I almost never get up when this one goes off. I don’t know why I even try to pretend that I will.

6:45am – I really get up now, and of course, I have to hustle to get us out the door on time. I get dressed quickly, pull my hair into a ponytail or bun, and brush my teeth.

7:00am – Wake little man for a diaper change and get him dressed. You might think I am torturing him by the fight that almost always ensues. He has recently developed a vendetta against any shirt with sleeves. His favorite move to try to escape is affectionately known as the alligator death roll.

7:10am – Gather his things and pack his milk. Put together my Freemie and grab my pumping stuff.

7:15am – Load up and head out. If I’m out of the house by 7:15, I give myself a high-five.

7:30am – Get back in the car from dropping Jake off. Try very hard not to cry about being away from him so long, some days are more successful than others. Attach my pump for session 1 as I commute.

7:45am – If traffic was decent and I didn’t get caught by the train, I have exactly enough time to swing through the drive-through at Chickfila. One large sweet tea and one large ice water, please!

7:55am – Unlock the pharmacy and get the day started. I’m typically the only one there for the first 30 minutes to an hour, but I try to knock out as much as possible.

9:30am – Pump 2, try to check prescriptions, make doctor calls, etc. so I can be productive without moving too much. Because it’s flu shot season, it’s hit or miss if I get 20 minutes of uninterrupted pumping.

11:00am – Usually, our second tech is arriving so I run around slightly less. Miss my baby so much I think my heart my literally break, which will be my official cause of death. Try to distract myself, but usually fail miserably.

11:30am – Pull out my phone and look at some pictures or a short video of J as I pump for the third time. Miss you buddy!!

12:00 pm – Workload lightens slightly for the next hour while doctors take a lunch break. We power on.

1:00pm – My third helper has arrived, so the first takes a lunch break. Depending on the day, they bring me some lunch too.

1:30pm – I try to scarf down some food while pumping for the fourth time. Call Jake to check on him, send my love through the phone.

2:00pm – Spend the next hour wishing I got off at 3 instead of 10.

3:00pm – Try to pretend I just got to work, even though I’ve been here all day already. Make sure techs 2 and 3 take lunch before tech 1 gets off work.

3:30pm – Pump 5

5:30pm – Valiant attempt at pump 6 – however, due to the rush, I often delay this one until 6 or 6:30.

6:30 pm – Actual pump session 6. Call my little bub again – he has normally had some food and is getting ready for a bath.

7:00pm – Down to one tech again, which means more running around for me.

8:00 pm – Try to squeeze this pump sesh in before my last tech gets off at 8:30 or 9.

10:00pm – Closing time – you don’t have to go home, but you can’t stay here.

10:07pm – In the car and hooked up to the pump for my eighth and final pump of the day.

10:30pm – Arrive to pick up little cutie. This is the absolute best part of my day! He is usually very silly and tired by now, but it’s a toss-up if he will cry the whole way home.

10:50pm – Home and out of the car, I get his milk into the fridge and try to wrestle him while I wash the pump parts.

11:05pm – Call hubby, who I haven’t seen today because he arrived at home after we left this morning, and left before we got home tonight. Let him know we are safe and sound. Change Jake’s diaper and get him some jammies.

11:15pm – In bed for bedtime story, prayers, snuggling, and nursing.

11:30pm – Some nights I squeeze in a quick (literally, less than 5 minute) shower before I fall into bed. Some nights, I value sleep over hygiene – judge me if you must. I fall asleep, wake up between 1 and 4 times to nurse, and then start another day.

And so it goes for a working, pumping mama.

Leave a Reply

