DIY Day – Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

Happy Fall Y’all! Because it is Halloween this week, we carved some pumpkins and decided we would try to roast the seeds. This was our first time, so we checked out lots of different recipes on the internet, but we ended up just kind of making it up as we went.

First, we rinsed the seeds. Then, we dried them by baking them in a single layer on a foil-lined cookie sheet for about an hour at 350 degrees. We then coated them with a little butter and a variety of toppings – one batch was garlic and onion, another was lemon pepper, and the last was cinnamon sugar. Then, they went back in the oven for 15-20 more minutes.

I have to be honest – this was our first time eating roasted pumpkin seeds. We liked them, but we didn’t love them. My favorite was the sweet version, while my hubby liked the lemon pepper ones better; the flavors were good but the texture was a little weird.

What we did love was spending the time together making them, and the fun of doing something new together and making memories. I’m always telling my husband that I want us to spend more time together creating traditions for our family, and this definitely for the bill!

2 thoughts on “DIY Day – Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

  1. I’ve usually just rinsed them and put them in the oven with some salt…the different flavors sound interesting! I didn’t do it this year though. My husband isn’t a huge fan of them so I typically end up roasting all these pumpkin seeds and munching on them myself for a few days before I can’t stand to eat another one 🙂 So I skipped it altogether. But I’ll have to remember the flavors for next year!

Leave a Reply

