Things to Love Thursday – The Miracle Blanket

A very dear friend of mine is expecting a little boy who will be due the same week that Jake turns one. Because I’ve been trying to go through his things to get them ready to pass on to her, I’ve found some things I had forgotten about from his newborn days.

We tried (and promptly failed) learning to swaddle J with a regular blanket to help him sleep. Due to my concerns about hip problems due to swaddling and Jake’s ability to bust out of our terrible swaddles, we almost gave up. Then, someone found me a swaddle blanket called the Miracle Blanket for cheap at a local consignment store and we decided to try again. Oh.my.goodness. Y’all, it was a miracle. I could actually sit him down while he was napping and he kept napping. He didn’t suddenly startle himself awake every 10 minutes. And because of the way Miracle Blanket is made, you don’t have to worry about hindering proper hip development, because the baby’s legs are free to move around within the sack-like bottom. He has outgrown the desire to be swaddled, so I hadn’t thought about it in a while, but when I saw it folded up in his dresser with his newborn clothes, I knew I had to tell y’all about it! You can check it out at miracleblanket.com or on Amazon.

Long and short of this story? While I might give most of his hand-me-downs to my friend and her new bundle of joy, we are going to hang on to our Miracle Blanket for when we have our next baby. After all, miracles don’t come around everyday.

Leave a Reply

