Trying to be a Stay-at-home Mom

Ah, the great life debate among women – to stay at home or return to work after having kids. I really believe that each family has to do what’s right for them, there’s no one-size-fits-all solution. Sometimes our desires and our realities are in drastically different places. Sometimes we get exactly what we wanted, and then realize that the grass is always greener on the other side.

I think anyone who knows me knows that, without a doubt, I would trade almost anything to be a stay-at-home mom. I would even love the chance to work from home (but not a sales type job, like Beachbody or something – I would be awful at that and would make no money). I just feel like my life calling was motherhood and homemaking, not a career. However, my bills say otherwise. I’ve been researching all over the Internet trying to find some other options. The avenue with the most promise seems to be freelance writing, but even that seems, ahem, unlikely to be a solution.

I’m really trying hard to chop our budget down to the bare bones. The only debt we owe is our house payment, and a single credit card that gets paid in full every month. We do both have cell phones, and we have satellite television, so I’m going to try to decrease some of our expenses. I’ve also reached out to our mortgage lender about avenues for decreasing our mortgage. Of course, I have considered moving, but my husband is VERY resistant to that idea.

I’m just stuck. I feel like I’ve never really met a challenge that I couldn’t figure our, but this one is really stumping me. How can I make this work? I am trying to have faith that I am exactly where The Lord wants me to be, but I actually think that He instilled the desire to be a SAHM in my heart. I hope that if I continue to listen, I will find the path He has laid out for our family.

2 thoughts on “Trying to be a Stay-at-home Mom

  1. If that is what you are called to do then God will provide.

    And as far as cell phones go? I have always had a basic phone and my husband switched back to a basic phone just recently when we realized our monthly cell phone bill could be cut literally in half by doing so…We’ve also learned that a lot of cell phone companies change their plans regularly without us ever knowing so if you check in there might be a new lower plan that would be less expensive. It’s definitely saved us quite a bit. And for tv you could try just having the regular antenna network channels and then add Netflix or Hulu or something. Those services are only about $8 a month! We switched to that two years ago figuring it would be a trial run and we found we don’t miss the cable at all. The savings is definitely worth it for us! But don’t worry…whatever you decide to do whether stay home or work, God will help you out 🙂

Leave a Reply

