Happy 2015!

I can’t believe it’s 2015. The past year has been a whirlwind. 2014 brought both blessings and challenges, but I know both helped me to grow – as a Christian, as a wife, as a mother, as a daughter. I can only imagine what this year will have in store!

I always love the new year, somehow it seems like a fresh start. This year it’s bittersweet, because Jake’s birthday is coming up soon and I am simultaneously thrilled and terrified. He is healthy and handsome and smart and sweet. But it has gone so quickly, and I wish I could slow it down.

Resolutions? Hmmm. I’m never great at making or keeping them. I always have some vague idea – “be a better wife” or “be better at housekeeping” or “save money.” This year, I think my resolution is to give myself some grace. I’m never going to be perfect, life will never be in perfect balance. I need to let that go sometimes. Not that I can’t always strive to be my best, but that I shouldn’t guilt myself about every little thing when I fall short.

What are your hopes for 2015?

3 thoughts on “Happy 2015!

  1. Hi Mrs. Your post about giving yourself grace as a New Year’s resolution resonates with me and caused me to think about what it means. I looked up the definition and found a few – simple and elegant and the more profound, God’s unmerited favor. I don’t know if this is what you mean in your post. The thought of grace being the combination of these things is a noble and worthwhile resolution that we can all work towards. Happy New Year!

    • For me, it means knowing that God loves me even in my imperfections, so I need to love myself too. I really struggle with constant guilt of never being enough, and this year, I’m ready to try to let that go. I can never be good enough to earn my salvation, but God’s grace means I don’t have to be.

Leave a Reply

