Happy Birthday

Son,

One year ago today, I awoke early and headed to the hospital to be induced. I didn’t know then what the next year would look like. I didn’t know that you would be 7 pounds, 8 ounces, 19 inches long. I didn’t know you would roll at 4 months, crawl at 6 months, or walk at 10 months. I didn’t know you would have 2 perfect dimples or your dad’s nose or my lips. I didn’t know that you would love books and the color red and bath time.

I didn’t know I would teach you how to say mama, and you would teach me about God’s love for His children. I didn’t know I would feed your belly and you would feed my soul. I didn’t know that every breath you took would take my breath away.

You gave me such a gift when you made me a mother. I will never be able to articulate my love for you, but I will always try to show you – in the tone of my voice, the strength of my hugs, the prayers I whisper over you as you sleep snuggled against me.

A year ago, all I knew was that my love for you would be unimaginable and my life was going to be forever changed. Today, I know my love for you is limitless, and I am forever changed.

I love you, Jake. Happy first birthday!

Love,
Mama

Leave a Reply

